Procrastination as Preparation

Turns out all my avoidance was just the sniff test a connoisseur employs before selecting the correct wine pairing. In my case, I was rejecting ideas until the ripe one fell into my lap. You can always tell when it’s the right idea because everything lines up and falls into place. The outline for the project came so fast and furiously that I needed additional resources to capture it. I looked for Inspiration in the iPad App Store and downloaded a free version. I’ve used it in the classroom when teaching Composition together with Tom March’s Thesis Builder Online. Students were amazed at how easy it was to brainstorm their way to an essay. Neither tool reduces the need for a keen editor’s eye and clear writer’s mind.

Leave a Reply

