Receive & Demonstrate

The plan was to read the 33rd chapter of Jeremiah and go live in FB. But the heading of the chapter on my lap and in my phone were not the same and neither am I having been taken to the place between them by The Lord. Now, I scarcely have anything to offer but the smile on my heart. Add to this Other World problem – albeit a good one to have – it would appear that the blog I’d intended to post on is beyond my reach temporarily so I find myself leaving this quick draft here and reversing the order operations. Won’t He do it!

It’s not only that I receive an error message (Attempt block recovery) when I save the foregoing, but that I was led to copy and paste what I’d written before saving the draft. As if Jesus knew what was about to happen and forestalled it. Yet further evidence that “where sin did abound, grace did much more abound”(Romans 5:20). This verse is the very verse that God revealed as a life preserver after the initial shock of coming to live in Las Vegas more than a decade ago. It happened on this wise…

After a torturous time as an administrator at an elementary school where I was called to simultaneously stand in the gap for the headmaster and lead diversity work with people whose availability to do the work was only exceeded by their conditioning to avoid it by any means necessary, I completed my contracts and came to Sin City to say goodbye to the woman whose kids were my first charges at 16. Having decided against suicide a few years earlier, the enemy aimed his horns in my direction once again wearing the same old suit – the abject soul bankruptcy of a nation still eating its young.

Of course, this is a much bigger story but with the time available this third day of Nanowrimo, let me say that God’s sense of humor is worth sticking around for. It was here after all, in Sin City, that I got saved. Ain’t that a hoot! And, while Jesus didn’t have to do it, He showed me how that very experience was being built as a testimony to serve someone else’s student years later. God is not the author of confusion (1 Corinthians 14:33) But I digress.

This morning I woke up with Naaman on my mind. I was parched and knew I needed to drink more water during the day than I sip during the night. I know too, that to be a good steward of this body, it would be wise to walk daily as my commitment to GirlTrek said I would. But something gets in the way. Probably, the same things get in the way for anyone reading this post. Fill in the excuse here: ____________________. As with Naaman, the basic sin is pride. If that ain’t a contradiction! Who’d ever think that someone so lacking in self-esteem as to abandon care of the body would be full of pride? Go figure. Let God guide as you do. And so, when I shoveled all my disappointments, self-neglect, and budding hopes for a future with my daughter into the prayer closet this morning, God went, BAM! And, like Emeril, kicked it up a notch!

The voice of joy, and the voice of gladness, the voice of the bridegroom, and the voice of the bride, the voice of them that shall say, Praise the Lord of hosts: for the Lord is good; for his mercy endureth for ever: and of them that shall bring the sacrifice of praise into the house of the Lord. For I will cause to return the captivity of the land, as at the first, saith the Lord (Jeremiah 33:11).

As my daughter opens the bedroom door, I notice a notification from Clubhouse. Les Brown is speaking in the Breakfast With Champions room on Heath and Wealth Wednesday. “Rob the cemetery of our dreams, gifts, and abilities, and live a life that will out-live us.” Les Brown is quoting Myles Munroe. I am shaking my head in humble acceptance as Glory bumps creep along my skin. Les is affirming the message I took from his speech at a conference I was led to position myself to attend this past weekend. You’re invited to the next one, 100xConferenceNow.com. You can find me on social media for more info if you can’t wait till I post the link. Thanks to Glenn the clubhouse moderator for bringing this topic to the world for such a time as this!

To be continued…

Leave a comment